The Violent Femmes – Shepherd’s Bush Empire (26 February 2006)

Sometimes I can’t help but ask just why the hell I do stuff like this to myself. By rights I should be in bed peacefully recovering from the previous day’s rocking and rolling. But no, that would be far too easy/sensible. Instead I find myself running round the London Underground refusing to believe that there are genuinely two stations called Shepherd’s Bush which have absolutely no relation to each other.

Of course when I talk to people about traveling to so often to gigs, I always semi-jokingly explain that I really don’t have a life. When I say that I’m alluding to the fact that doing so does have a certain obsessive fanboy-type aura about it, or that, genuinely, these days there’s not even a cat that I need to think about feeding. Just how empty is my existence that I have to wander the length and breadth of the land desperately in search of some fleeting moments of happiness?

Of course, if that’s so, then this is one of those tomes of ecstatic sheer joy that’s just gonna make me do it all the more. Actually, thinking about this, I realise it happens a lot more than you’d think. And, no matter how many gigs you attend it always comes as something of a surprise that music can reach inside and move you such a level of emotion. It’s great that way. However, this time I danced like a tit and sang along to everything, arms aloft and grinning at complete strangers. Even more than usual. What must life be like for the Coldplay fans?

So, what was the highlight of all this fervor? Is the addition of Dr Eugene Chadbourne on Jesus Walking On The Water that transfers the band to some mutant bluegrass supergroup?
I Held Her In My Arms‘s insistence on being a heartbroken misery in the face of happiness? . Or the jazz idiocy of Black Girls? Nah. It’s all of it!! Next time I’m going to all their dates.

Written by Tony Kiernan

02 March 2006 at 5:33 pm

Posted in Gigs

