Programmable clipboard shortcuts?

with one comment

Do such things exists? Or, more likely, some software to do so?

“What the hell are you talking about, Kiernan?” I hear you cry. Right, we all know about Ctrl+C and Ctrl+V etc and what they do. Basical cutting and pasting selected text/objects. I notice that Office (or at least Outlook – don’t use the rest that much) is expanding this and giving you more clipboard options within the suite. And, I’m tedious droned on to about just how much you can do with te clipboard in Linux. But, still none of them do what I want to do. Here are two examples of what I mean:

Email address
I want to be able to Ctrl+Shift+@ (for example, it doesn’t really matter if that already does something) and paste my email address into whatever application I am using.

Lorem
I develop web sites. I would love to hit Ctrl+L and *bang* a paragraph of Lorem complete with p tags.

There must be something that does this. I can’t be the only person to see the advantages. Even a Firefox plug-in for the first would be useful. But ideally something that works with the OS.

Or, am I missing something really obvious somewhere?

NB. I use PCs and Macs

Written by Tony Kiernan

08 April 2009 at 4:13 pm

Posted in Software

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a good idea. Why can’t some tool run in the background and offer these clipboard functions?
    Personally I’d like one that keeps a history of the last 20 things I’ve copied. (And doesn’t rely on Microsoft Word being open). You could still do a quick Ctrl+V to paste the most recent item, or hold Ctrl+V for a second and a box appears with a list of your clipboard items, which you just use the cursor keys to scroll down to your selection, release and the text is inserted.

    If a decent clipboard tool doesn’t already exist, then Tony I think you’re the man to develop it.

    Andy

    08 April 2009 at 7:17 pm


Leave a Reply

