The Dum Dum Girls – Scala (1 May 2014)

with one comment

Remember the days you used to go see a band and they would bear no resemblance to their recorded material? More often than not, not in a good way? I suspect that recording fashions may be somewhat to blame for this being a distant memory, but like to think that I now have a more sophisticated palate. (Not to suggest that bands I see are all carbon copies of their studio versions. Or that they all record single mic lo-fi live. Allow me my metaphor.)

On record The Dum Dum Girls are all washed out psychedelica.  Indie tunes buried beneath a fuzzed-up lace curtain.  It’s very nice, in a drifty dreamy kinda way.  In the flesh, they are a much different prospect.  We are presented with a great solid (dare I say it) country (yes, I do) rock band.  They make me think of Fleetwood Mac (but nothing precisely) or The Bangs (or what I imagine them to have sounded like).  And, they are much better for it. Good, clean, solid. Every song comes across like a future classic.  I’ve never bought a record of these guys. Might never do.  But, after tonight, I’ll be first in the queue to see them again.

I’m sat here listening to their latest album to ensure I’ve not missed some major new, recorded, direction from them. I haven’t. Guess that’ll be the next album. (Unless something was going seriously wrong with the sound.)

Written by Tony Kiernan

03 May 2014 at 9:10 am

Posted in Gigs, London, Music

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] I saw Dum Dum Girls, there was something about their glam-goth schtick that didn’t sit comfortably with them. […]

    May bees |

    01 June 2016 at 12:19 am


Leave a Reply

