Savages & Bo Ningen “Words to the Blind” – Oval Space (19 November 2014)

leave a comment »

Bo Ningen have become, for me, the very definition of the law of diminishing returns. From being blown away by the sheer force and theatricality of them on first viewing, my shrug is getting all the more gallic with each additional exposure to them.

Savages, I’m not familiar with. But, enough people I rate the taste of speak of them favourably for me to think of them in a good light. So, when asked if I fancied going to see the two of them perform a collaboration Words to the Blind, I thought why the hell not.

It is described thus:

a ‘simultaneous sonic poem’ in a ferocious battle of improv, noise and poetry….A unique experiment inspired by the Dadaist concept of simultaneous poetry – when poems were being recited at the same time in different languages, adding up to a powerful overall effect.

Which can’t have any middle ground. It’s going to be awesome fun or complete and utter bollocks.

It wasn’t fun.

Positioned where I could get a really good view of one band. (They played this on either side of a u-shaped stage to envelope the audience. Not a very big one, though. Only the first ten or so folk in the venue for inside it’s arms. I like to imagine a Stonehenge style miscalculation.) Realising that the other band were all-girl I moved over to the other side of the room to get a ‘better’ view. It didn’t help.

Written by Tony Kiernan

20 November 2014 at 10:32 am

Posted in Gigs, London, Music

Leave a Reply

