We/The Rebel – Perlin Noise, The White Building (20 November 2014)

leave a comment »

Another day, another ‘happening’ in a gallery space. I’ll be honest, each time I read the description of Perlin Noise #1, I’d decide there were a different number of acts performing. In the end it was two.

First up, and my reason for being here, was Ben Wallers in his guise as The Rebel. I’ve been a fan of his work for too many years. Yet, I am only aware of having missed him and his band once each over that time.

Solo, with guitar, mono-synth and Gameboy as accompaniment. It’s near unlistenably off-kilter. The lyrical content, is possibly distasteful. It’s bloody marvelous.

We, the other act, draw heavily from Devo or someone (they were wearing Japanese bento boxes on their heads). I think they did nothing but covers. I recognised some (Every Breath You Take, I Wanna Hold Your Hand) all done with four monotone vocals and a quite jolly punk/garage band backing. Unfortunately they weren’t together enough to pull it off. And, their sound was off. But, it was all suitably shambolic while aspiring to great things that the evening ended with me kindly disposed towards them.

Written by Tony Kiernan

21 November 2014 at 2:14 pm

Posted in Gigs, London, Music

Leave a Reply

